The area were the city of Mar del Plata stands today has been known in the past as Costa Galana, Loberia Chica, Region del Vulcan, Punta de los Lobos, etc. The original indigenous called Pampas or Serranos by the Spaniards were the first inhabitants of this area. The arrival of the white man to this part of the Buenos Aires Province takes place in 1581 with an exploration expedition led by Juan de Garay.
In 1746, on request of the Spanish Monarch, the “Reduccion de Nuestra Señora de Pilar” is founded on the shores of the “Las Cabrillas” Lagoon (today it is known as “de los Padres Lagoon”) to be managed by the Jesuit priests. It was led by priests Jose Cardiel, Tomas Falkner and P. Balda and they had up to 1,200 natives here and, they requested pueblo status which was conceded but did not last long as it was attacked by rebellious Indians and the missionaries abandoned the place 1 September 1751.
Mar del Plata is declared a city: Ciudad de Mar del Plata
A law passed 15 October 1879 by the Provincial legislature creates the General Pueyrredon district thus dividing the one which was known as General Balcarce in two. 25 October 1906 another project is presented asking for the Pueblo of Mar del Plata to be recognized as a city and is approved 19 July 1907; 13 December 1880 Mr. Antonio Alvarez is named as Peace Judge who then becomes the first president of the Municipal Council.
He is followed by Mr. Ovidio Zubiaurre. In 1887 the Provincial Executive Power names Mr. Fortunato de la Plaza as the first Mayor of General Pueyrredon.
Mar del Plata Port:
An initiative by Dr. Pedro Luro requested that the National Congress pass a National Law, number 6,499 of 11 October 1909 approving construction of the Mar del Plata “Ultramar” Port; Preparations for the construction of the port began in October 1911 and the official start of the building takes place 24 February 1913 with the writing of an official certificate deposited with the basal stone in the Southern wharfs. The fishermen section, the fishing boats platform, the Customs deposits for merchandise and the Railway lines are all from the 1914-1918 years. .
The fishermen start working from the port in 1917. The “Societe Generale de Travaux Publics” finalizes work here in November 1922 and work is completed in the Mar del Plata Port in 1934.